EmailTwitter


Extra-Tropical Cyclone Automated Tracking

For tropical cyclone tracking click here

1. Methodology:

These maps are generated using the tracking algorithm originally developed by: Sinclair, M. R., 1997: Objective identification of cyclones and their circulation intensity, and climatology. Wea. Forecasting, 12, 595–612. E-T cyclones are tracked base on either their minimum central MSLP (mean sea level pressure) or on their maximum values of gradient wind vorticity.

For vorticity based tracking, cyclones (i.e. vorticity maxima) must reach a given threshold value (at 1000 hPa: +0.75x10-5 s-1, at 500 hPa: +1.5x10-5 s-1). Vorticity fields are smoothed using a Cressman filter with a smoothing radius of 800 km to removed (real and ficticious) small scale details and retain only the synoptic scale features.

For pressure based traking, cyclone centers are determined from filtered MSLP fields obtained with a Cressman filter and a smoothing radius of 300 km. However, the minimum central pressure values mapped are the raw MSLP values at the center locations found in the filtered MSLP fields.

In all cases, cyclones must last at least 24 h to be considered.

2. Trajectory maps description:


  1. Day and time (UTC) of cyclone appearance in the time interval considered in the the forecast
  2. Location of gradient wind vorticity maximum (left) and low pressure center (right). Plotted at 00, 06, 12 and 18 UTC only. The diameter of the circles is proportional (inversly proportional) to the vorticity value (the minimum central pressure).
  3. Left: gradient wind vorticity maximum value (x10-5 s-1). Right: minimum central pressure (in hPa) in abbreviated format: 9 or 10 must be added in front to get the pressure value. Only one of these choices will give a realistic value. For example, the pressure pointed in the above figure = 984 hPa.
  4. White circles (left) and crosses (right) indicate a position valid at 00 UTC

3. 4-panel animation description:

Animation every 6h showing :



A- Mean sea level pressure (or 500 hPa heights) after filtering
B- Original (i.e. without filtering) mean sea level pressure (or 500 hPa heights)
C- Gradient wind vorticity after filtering
D- Gradient wind vorticity after filtering greater than the threshold value of +1,5x10-5 s-1

EmailTwitter


Suivi Automatisé des Cyclones Extra-Tropicaux

Pour le suivi des cyclones tropicaux cliquez ici

1. Méthodologie:

Ces cartes sont produites en utilisant un algorithme initiallement développé par: Sinclair, M. R., 1997: Objective identification of cyclones and their circulation intensity, and climatology. Wea. Forecasting, 12, 595–612. Les cyclones E-T sont suivis soit par leurs valeurs minimales de pression au niveau moyen de la mer (PNMM) ou par leurs valeurs maximales de tourbillon du vent gradient.

Pour le suivi basé sur le tourbillon, les cyclones (i.e. les maximums de tourbillon) doivent dépasser une certaine valeur seuil (à 1000 hPa: +0,75x10-5 s-1, à 500 hPa: +1,5x10-5 s-1). En premier lieu, le tourbillon est filtré avec un filtre de Cressman ayant un rayon de filtrage de 800km afin de supprimer les détails (réels et fictifs) de petite échelle et ne conserver que la composante synoptique.

Pour le suivi basé sur la PNMM, les centres de basse pression sont déterminés en utilisant des champs de PNMM filtrés avec un filtre de Cressman ayant un rayon de filtrage de 300 km. Toutefois, les valeurs centrales de basse pression apparaissant sur les cartes représentent la pression de la PNMM brute (i.e. non filtrée) à la position des centres identifiés dans les champs de PNMM filtrées.

Dans tous les cas, pour être considérés, les cyclones doivent perdurer au moins 24h.

2. Description des cartes de trajectoires:



1- Jour et heure (UTC) de l'apparition du cyclone dans la plage d'heures considérée dans la prévision

2- Emplacement du maximum de tourbillon du vent gradient (gauche) ou du centre de basse pression (droite). Affichés à 00, 06, 12 et 18 UTC uniquement. Le diamètre des cercles est proportionnel (inversement proportionnel) à la valeur du tourbillon (au minimum de PNMM)

3- Gauche: Valeur du maximum de tourbillon du vent gradient (x10-5 s-1). Droite: Pression minimale (en hPa) en format abrégé: il faut ajouter 9 ou 10 devant la valeur pour compléter. Une seule de ces options donne une valeur de PNMM réaliste. En exemple, la valeur pointée ici = 984 hPa

4- Les cercles blancs (gauche) et les croix (droite) indiquent une position valide à 00 UTC.

3. Description des animations 4 panneaux:

Montage à intervalle de 6h affichant:



A- Pression au niveau moyen de la mer (ou hauteurs du niveau 500 hPa) après filtrage
B- Pression au niveau moyen de la mer (ou hauteurs du niveau 500 hPa) brute (i.e. sans filtrage)
C- Tourbillon du vent gradient après filtrage
D- Tourbillon du vent gradient après filtrage dépassant la valeur seuil de +0,75 ou +1,5x10-5 s-1